When I got my teaching assignment for the spring quarter, I knew Mondays were going to be tough. My first class starts at 10:10 am and my last class ends at 9:15 pm. But I figured I would adapt. For a very long time I taught a night class every quarter, so ending around 9 pm is not a new experience for me. While I am in no way a morning person, I’ve also adapted to morning classes since for some reason the Python classes seem to be more likely to be scheduled early. For six weeks in the fall 2013 I even taught 4 1/2 hours straight twice a week when I took an overload. Four plus hours one day a week should be no problem, right?

So far this schedule is killing me. By the time I drag myself home around 10 pm, my knees and legs ache and I can barely think straight. When I wake up the next day, I feel like I have a hangover. I only recover by the end of Tuesday, and my productivity is lousy. The worst part is, I can’t figure out what the problem is. Yes, it doesn’t help that I exercise every day, which means waking up at 6 am so I can make the morning class. It also doesn’t help that the most physically demanding part of the day is the last three hours when I spend the entire time standing. But I don’t think any of these things alone explain it. I’ll have to hang in there and see if I adapt with time.

 

