As I left the office today, two colleagues (both assistant professors) got off the elevator. When they saw me the following conversation took place:

Colleagues: “Oh! There you are! We were just talking about teaching.”

Me: (laughing) “And I’m the embodiment of teaching.”

Colleagues: “You laugh, but, yes, you are.”

I was a bit startled, until I realized that they couldn’t have paid me a higher compliment. I love teaching and spend a lot of time trying to do it as well as I can. And I’ve structured almost all of my scholarship and service around teaching and learning too. That colleagues I don’t know particularly well see my face and think of teaching means that I’ve not only dedicated myself to teaching, but I’ve done it so publicly that everyone else knows about my dedication. What a great way to start the weekend!

