The end of April is rapidly approaching, and there have been 15 weekends since the start of 2017. At the beginning of the year I made it one of my resolutions to take every weekend off from work, something I wasn’t sure I would accomplish. I’m happy to say that I’ve only worked two weekends since the start of 2017. (Ok, yes, I answer email during weekends, but that’s because I can’t leave my students without help for two days straight). During one of the weekends I was in Seattle for a conference, and I remember that I worked one other weekend day although I can’t remember now why or when. I’m frankly shocked I’ve been able to do it.

What’s been interesting is that taking weekends off from work was a hard habit to start but has gotten easier and easier as the months have gone by. It doesn’t even occur to me anymore than working on the weekend might be a good idea, which is an amazing shift for me. But the “sort of” in the title comes from the burnout that I’m feeling. I was hopeful that taking weekends off would help with it, but I’m still feeling tired and worn out by work. Of course, maybe it is helping and I would have collapsed without it. I’ll never know, and I think the burnout will make it even more important than before that I continue the experiment.

