Today I got around to checking my course evaluations for the Fall quarter. I was nervous about the evaluations because I was gone the entire first week of the quarter due to a conference in Australia. My theory had been that missing the first week of the quarter would be dire because that’s when students get to know you and first impressions do make a difference. In both classes they were left with only recordings of me, and for one class they were simply posted online without anything other than an email to direct them. While that’s fine when students are expecting it, these were traditional, in-person classes.

I’m happy to report that my theory was complete hogwash, at least this quarter. I got 4.47 and 4.7 out of 5 on the course evaluations, the latter of which is a record for me. I’m thrilled about being completely wrong.

