When I started this blog in the fall of 2011, it was a transitional time for me. I had just stepped down as director of a center focused on computing education, and I had blogged for that. While I felt that resigning as director was the right thing to do, I wasn’t ready to give up the process of blogging. So I refocused on more personal topics. I imagined it as an extension of conversations with friends: I would write about the things that came to mind and the few people who knew me well would read it.

I think that my image of the blog was true for the first few years. The traffic on the site was minuscule, and only my closest friends every commented on the things that I wrote. In some senses that’s still the case, as the traffic on this site is still relatively low. But more and more frequently I’m surprised by the people who comment on things I write either electronically or in person. There are a lot of people who I know but don’t necessarily interact with more than a few times a year who specifically tell me that they enjoy reading what I write here.

Even better are the people who now send me things because of what they’ve read here. I’ve had colleagues, former students, and people I meet at conferences send me links on topics I’ve posted about. The most recent was a former student who sent me a link about blind hiring in computing and its potential impact on diversity. And he’s right: I was fascinated by the article.

So thanks to all of you who read what I write here and who send me things as  result. I look forward to continuing my conversations with friends near and far through this blog.

