I have fabulous news for anyone who has had to endure one of my rants about MOOCs: it looks like I get to stop ranting now. A new article about MOOCs appeared in an ACM news feed, and the title alone makes me happy: “The Hype is Dead, but MOOCs Are Marching On.” In it, the Coursera co-founder gives a remarkably grounded description of what they’d like to do and the progress that they’re making. My favorite quote is:

If you think about the “Gartner Hype Cycle,” I think we’re emerging from the “trough of disillusionment.” The previous hype was completely unmerited because it was based on the presumption that MOOCs were going to put universities out of business […]

Now I think I’ll start wishing for some articles discussing the fact that online education predates MOOCs (by decades!). It’s fun to be a dreamer.

