The start of 2015 is around the corner, which means it’s time for New Year’s resolutions. For the most part I avoid making them in my personal life, other than the perennial “I will read at least one book a month for fun” resolution which I typically am able to keep. My work life is a different story though. Last year I vowed to keep my expectations for the December break realistic, which I managed to do this year. But overall I was terrible at keeping work under control in 2014, resulting in pretty severe burnout. I would like this year to be different.

So I give you my three work resolutions for 2015:

  1. I will keep at least one day every other weekend free of work. Yes, I realize this is likely to be the hardest to keep, especially in the hell months of March and October, but I think that also makes it all the more worthy of being a resolution. It would be great to make it both days and every week, but I’m also realistic. I spend a good deal of time during the week being a mom, so some work on the weekends is likely going to be needed. I just don’t want to go months and months without a break from work.
  2. I will find the joy in everything I do or I will do my best to get rid of that task. Again, this needs some disclaimers. First, I doubt I’ll find the joy in grading, but I can’t get rid of it. And I hate meetings, but those aren’t likely to disappear. But in general I want to find the positive in the work obligations I have or I want to seriously consider if they can go.
  3. I will keep myself open to finding a new research collaborator. This one is slightly at odds with the first one, since I have plenty of research to keep me occupied. But I think it’s worth making since new collaborators and projects keep me energized, which supports the second one. I haven’t found a new collaborator since 2013, and I think the time is right to consider finding another one. Of course like all relationships, you can’t just wish for it to happen and have it suddenly appear. It’s a matter of timing and luck, and it may not be a part of my 2015. But I want to keep my mind open to it.

I’ll be sure to report back during 2015 to see how well I’m able to stick to these resolutions. I think my life will be better if I can.

