The fall quarter is into its second week, and I am once again reminded of one of my failings as an instructor.  No matter how hard I try to see both the good and the bad in each of my two classes, I always have a favorite.  There is always one class with whom I connect better, and that’s the one I look forward to seeing most.  That, of course, produces something of a vicious cycle since I’m sure I eventually end up being more enthusiastic with the favorite group, causing me to feel even more connected to them.  Some quarters the difference between the favorite and the less-favorite isn’t as strong, but some quarters it’s very strong.  And I can’t help but feel that I’m somehow doing the less-favorite students some sort of disservice with my preferences.  I don’t know that there is a solution for this, but it always confirms my belief that I was meant to be a parent to only one child.  I’m reasonable sure that favorites with classes is less damaging than favorites with children.  And, no, I won’t say which is which this quarter …

