With three weeks to go before our fall quarter classes start, I finally feel like I’m reaching the productive part of the summer.  All of my various trips are done, and my daughter starts school next week which will give me more time for work.  At the same time teaching is still distant enough that I’m not feeling much pressure for preparation.  I think this is my favorite part of the summer break.

I’ve been doing a lot of writing and editing on several research papers and a book chapter, but the most pressing items on the to-do list are service-related.  Normally service-related items rank only slightly higher than grading on my favorites list, but the recent tasks have turned out to be great fun.  I’ve been working on updating financial spreadsheets in my role as SIGCSE treasurer, which has me digging through financial systems and budget reports trying to figure out what the previous treasurer meant by various things.  Today I also got a start on the evaluation report for the ITiCSE 2013 conference, which meant creating and analyzing reports on Qualtrics.  I spent the entire morning fascinated by both tasks, a bit shocked when I realized that lunch time had come and gone.  I wouldn’t have predicted that either task would capture my attention the way it has, but I’m happy to have the time to indulge in a bit of number crunching.

