Yesterday I spent most of the day preparing final drafts of submissions for SIGITE 2013.  One of those submissions required more work than the usual minor edits, since I wrote it as a paper but it got accepted as a workshop.  Papers are six pages and workshops are two pages, so I needed to do some serious editing.  Back in July when the program chair contacted me about the possibility of presenting the paper as a workshop, I was disappointed.  The reviews were middling, and I had worked really hard on the paper.  But as I wrote the two-page summary, I started to get excited about the prospect of doing the workshop.  I’ll have more time for the presentation, and it will let me dig into the details of how we teach recursion in our Python classes.  And the pieces of the paper that I pulled into the workshop fit together beautifully.  I still have hopes that the remaining parts of the paper can be submitted elsewhere, but the program chair had a great idea when he suggested I modify it into a workshop.  It’s going to be a lot of fun, and I think it will make a nice contribution to the conference.

