From the beginning of the quarter I’ve been worried about my first-quarter Python students, something I wrote about earlier.  In short, they are much less interactive than previous classes, asking fewer questions and not responding to my prompts in class as much.  Interactive classes usually do better, so I was concerned for them.  As it turns out, they’re simply the quiet student in the back who knows all the answers, and I didn’t have to worry about them at all.  They scored better on the midterm than any other class in recent memory, a midterm that other Python instructors agreed was a good measure of their learning so far.  On top of that I have yet to have an Academic Integrity violation, which hasn’t happened in at least a year.  So, yes, I do have to work harder to teach them, but they appear to be learning just fine.  Sometimes it’s good to be wrong.

