I spend most of my time around computer scientists, who tend to want to collaborate with other disciplines when possible.  I also know that isn’t always a common situation.  So it was exciting today to read an article that calls for more work in the digital humanities, written by a historian.  I don’t completely agree with all the things said in the article, and I found some of them a bit simplistic.  But there were a couple of places where I got really animated, including the following:

The fact is that the latest technology improves humanities research and teaching together, affecting the way our faculty offer their classes by interweaving research and teaching to the benefit of both.

It is thrilling to hear someone from the humanities discuss about how digital humanities can improve teaching, even at the undergraduate level.  I hope that people in the humanities who want to work on projects and initiatives like those described in the article are able to find willing computer scientists to help them.

