This week has been an explosive one in American politics, with several members of Congress saying outrageously incorrect things about reproductive biology.  I typically try to stay calm about such things an effort to keep my blood pressure under control, but I just found out something that makes me absolutely outraged.  Representative Aiken is a member of the House subcommittee on Science, Space, and Technology.  Their jurisdiction includes many things, most notably “scientific research, development, and demonstration”.  This has to be the biggest argument I’ve seen recently for ensuring that everyone get a strong education in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).  We cannot have people who display such ignorance in positions like this!  Of course, even if we do broaden the reach of STEM educational programs we won’t eliminate those who are willfully ignorant.  But it’s worth a try anyway.

