In the past week I’ve been obsessed with watching the Olympics.  Every four years I spend more time in front of the TV than I do the entire rest of the year combined, watching swimming, track and field, soccer, rowing, volleyball, gymnastics, and more.  This year it has particularly struck me how close many of the competitions are, decided by hundredths of a point or second.  So when I sat down to review the proposed scholarships for the graduates and undergraduates today, I was particularly sensitive to the issue.  And it turns out that aside from the special scholarships that have requirements for who can receive them, we aren’t awarding anything to students who earned lower than 2.9 out of 3 for their average rating.  What strikes me is that unlike the Olympics, these students won’t know how hard it was to earn that money.  I don’t know if it’s a good thing or a bad thing to know how competitive it was, but they just won’t.  I only hope that they can see the good work they’re doing, and I resolve to point it out when I can.

