The past two summers have been very busy, both involving a lot of travel.  But when I reflected on it recently, this summer has seemed a lot more relaxing.  I think there’s a single reason for that.  This year I’m focusing only on those things that truly interest me, which has a way of removing the stress from even the busiest schedule.  And the reason that I’m able to do only those things that are close to my heart is due to a great deal of turmoil that I experienced last summer and early last fall.  At the time it seemed horrible, but it ended up forcing me to remove a lot of distractions from my life.  I’ve finally reached the point where I can enjoy the freedom that resulted from the upheaval of that time, and I’m grateful.  Now I just have to remember this the next time I encounter some seemingly awful turning point in my life.

